Can you see the problem?

So, to followup on my previous post regarding my abysmal experience with MARTA (Metro Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority in case you aren’t familiar with them): I have received two calls this morning regarding the incident.  Keep in mind that it took 47 days to receive a “resolution” to the situation.  My first call was from the woman who took my initial complaint. She informed me that “a resolution has been reached” regarding my complaint. I waited to hear what the resolution was; she told me the driver said he “had the light,” that I was on the curb when he began to turn left and that I stopped walking halfway across the street to allow him to turn.  This is a lie.  All of it.  I was not on the curb, I was halfway across the street, the driver did have a green light, but not a turn signal and he sped up to turn left in front of me.  The customer service agent let me know that she was taking down my comments and would re-send the complaint to the Superintendent’s office and request a “playback from the bus.” I said I absolutely wanted the camera footage to be looked at, because the driver was lying through his teeth and that just accepting his denial that he hit a pedestrian was unacceptable.  She told me that she would resend it and someone would be in touch.

Another odd thing happened at the end of the conversation (I had deja vu from my first complaint): once again the woman asked me about my disability. “Are you legally blind?” she asked, “I don’t think I asked you that before.” I proceeded to inform her that, actually, she had asked me that question in our very first conversation. See, in our first talk she waited until the end of the conversation to ask: “was it a man or a woman driving the bus?” to which I replied “I think it was a man, but I couldn’t really tell.” and the retorted with: “I thought you said you were blind.” After I reminded her of this she apparently looked at the screen and said: “Oh yes, I see that noted here.”

After this call I was livid, I talked to some of the folks here at disABILITY LINK and got their views on the matter and advice on what my next course of action should be.  I completely forgot to bring up the white cane law or the fact that I had the crosswalk signal.  Hindsight, regardless of how cliche the saying is, is definitely 20/20.  I did get the opportunity to bring both of these facts up when the customer service agent called me a second time to let me know that the Superintendent (no name, no description of what exactly they are the superintendent of, just the ominous title) would be calling me today to discuss this matter.  She further informed me that looking at the tape wouldn’t do any good because it wouldn’t show what was occurred on the outside of the bus.

So now I wait for another response from MARTA.  Hopefully this one will come sooner than forty-seven days after they told me they would get back with me.

About disABILITY LINK

People with disabilities have the right to be independent, make decisions for themselves, have access to their community and to achieved goals in life like any other individual. disABILITY LINK is committed to promoting the rights of ALL people with disabilities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

