Megabus Mega-savings

This past holiday season I decided to try taking the Megabus, a new bus service that recently started running out of Atlanta.  At first, I thought it was a scam because the fares were as low as $1 to places that Greyhound would charge me almost $50.  It seemed too good to be true, so I did some research and learned that Megabus is a legitimate company and have been popular in Canada, in the North and the UK for some time.  When I initially looked into the fares I could go to Knoxville for $1 or $3, but I hemmed and hawed and by the time I booked the fares were $3 and $8 with a fifty cent booking fee.  I was over the moon about this price.  Every year I go to see my mom in Tennessee and use Greyhound; the prices are usually between $45-50 one way, the last three times I took them the bus broke down and we were stuck on the side of the road for hours.  I figured that even if the bus broke down (which it didn’t, unlike three times on Greyhound) I only paid $8.50 for the ticket.

The day of my departure I went down to the Civic Center MARTA station, my only criticism for Megabus was a lack of signage. I knew it picked up at Civic Center but couldn’t find any kind of sign; there was a person there to check you in, but they didn’t really stand out from other pedestrians.  The big blue bus arrived and the driver got off to help me find a seat (I’m visually impaired, so it was nice to have a little guidance on something new) and load luggage.  The driver was friendly and the bus was very clean.  As we left there was a video about the service and the rules of riding the bus, I was pleased that the video had audio that played as well as having captions for people who may have hearing impairments.  The trip went smoothly, the bus both left and arrived on time. I will definitely be using this bus again, it helps make travel more affordable and therefore more accessible to people on fixed incomes. I was initially worried about access for wheelchair users, but the website stated that customers that needed accommodations or used wheelchairs can notify the service in advance for accommodations.  I would highly recommend using this service especially for the price. And remember: the earlier you book the cheaper you fare will be.

To learn more about Megabus and to check out fares and areas served visit: http://www.megabus.com

About disABILITY LINK

People with disabilities have the right to be independent, make decisions for themselves, have access to their community and to achieved goals in life like any other individual. disABILITY LINK is committed to promoting the rights of ALL people with disabilities.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Megabus Mega-savings

  1. Orel Di Angelo says:

    Megabus is a really good way to travel for very cheap. I first took a bus Glasgow-London, UK, and I was really satisfied because I was eventually paying a fair price! Since then I use it whenever I can.

Leave a Reply

