That Awkward Moment When You Realize I Can See You

Sometimes people don’t know that, just because you use a white cane, you can still see.  I’ve often said that blindness isn’t an on/off switch (it can be more of a dimmer or a focus spotlight). This ignorance about blindness can lead to irritating questions, but can also lead to some hilarious situations.  Some people just don’t know how to act around blind folks.

On the train, for example: I’m sitting by the door, getting ready to head to an National Federation of the Blind meeting and these people across the aisle from me are staring, and I mean staring hard. I’m pretty sure they were looking so hard that my face was almost bruised.  Anyway, the mother/guardian of these people (they were mid to late teens) leans in and whispers for them to stop looking.  They didn’t. Instead, they start waving and making faces, at which point I lean over and say: “It’s gonna freeze like that.” They looked horrified and the mother nearly fell out of her seat laughing (and then immediately turned on them for a scolding).

Then there are those that think they can “get away with something.” Whether it’s picking their nose or their underwear, they’ll look around to make sure nobody can see them, since I’m standing there with my cane (they pay no mind to the glasses on my face, apparently) it is assumed I will perceive nothing.  I’ve witnessed people eating food from a hot bar at the grocery store, breaking something and then trying to hide it.  People tend to get very naughty when they think nobody saw it, then there is that wonderful moment of embarrassment when I make a point of letting them know I saw them.  I verbalize occasionally, but my preferred method is adopt a shocked expression, sometimes with a little gasp/intake of air.

Have you been guilty (whether caught, or not) of something like this?

About disABILITY LINK

People with disabilities have the right to be independent, make decisions for themselves, have access to their community and to achieved goals in life like any other individual. disABILITY LINK is committed to promoting the rights of ALL people with disabilities.
This entry was posted in Humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That Awkward Moment When You Realize I Can See You

  1. Pingback: That Awkward Moment | Scope Blog

  2. Terri says:

    WHAT ABOUT THE INVISIBLE DISABILITY? OOHHH WEEE! TRY GETTING REFUSED AND CUSSED OUT FOR TRYING TO USE THE STALL FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILLITIES! WHO SAYS I HAVE TO SHOW MY DISABILITY TO HAVE THE ABILITY TO USE THE STALL FOR INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES! 🙂 LOL! Humor…

Leave a Reply

